Mark Twain Award

Mark Twain Award Intro

This annual award honors one book selected by Missouri students in grades four through six.

For more information about the Mark Twain Award, please see the MASL Mark Twain page.

Mark Twain Award Nominees

  • Cover image for The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair

    The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair

    “100 percent unforgettable.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Part mystery, part study of the human heart, and one pierced with rays of hope.” —Booklist (starred review) “A big-hearted adventure about coming home.” —Publishers Weekly A ten-year-old girl is determined to find her missing neighbor, but the answers lead her to places and people she never expected—and maybe even one she’s been running away from—in this gorgeous debut novel that’s perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish. Guinevere St. Clair is going to be a lawyer. She was the fastest girl in New York City.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for The Truth As Told by Mason Buttle

    The Truth As Told by Mason Buttle

    From the critically acclaimed author of Waiting for Normal and All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook, Leslie Connor, comes a deeply poignant and beautifully crafted story about self-reliance, redemption, and hope. Mason Buttle is the biggest, sweatiest kid in his grade, and everyone knows he can barely read or write. Mason's learning disabilities are compounded by grief. Fifteen months ago, Mason's best friend, Benny Kilmartin, turned up dead in the Buttle family's orchard.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for The Science of Breakable Things

    The Science of Breakable Things

    When life tries to break you, hold tight to your friends. When Natalie's science teacher suggests that she enter an egg drop competition, Natalie thinks that this might be the perfect solution to all of her problems. There's prize money, and if she and her friends wins, then she can fly her botanist mother to see the miraculous Cobalt Blue Orchids--flowers that survive against impossible odds. Natalie's mother has been suffering from depression, and Natalie is sure that the flowers' magic will inspire her mom to love life again.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for The Night Diary

    The Night Diary

    Shy twelve-year-old Nisha, forced to flee her home with her Hindu family during the 1947 partition of India, tries to find her voice and make sense of the world falling apart around her by writing to her deceased Muslim mother in the pages of her diary.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for The Doughnut Fix

    The Doughnut Fix

    When his family moves to tiny Petersville, eleven-year-old Tris stops focusing on his perfect sister, Jeanine, by using his cooking expertise to revive a town tradition of chocolate cream doughnuts.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for The Ambrose Deception

    The Ambrose Deception

    Melissa is a nobody. Wilf is a slacker. Bondi is a show-off. At least that's what their middle school teachers think. To everyone's surprise, they are the three students chosen to compete for a ten thousand-dollar scholarship, solving clues that lead them to various locations around Chicago. At first the three contestants work independently, but it doesn't take long before each begins to wonder whether the competition is a sham.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Squint

    Squint

    The hero of my comic books can shoot lasers from his eyes when he squints. But it might not be enough to save the Empress. What he'll need most of all is a friend named Diamond Girl. Flint loves to draw. In fact, he's furiously trying to finish his comic book so he can be the youngest winner of the "Find a Comic Star" contest. He's also rushing to finish because he has an eye disease that could eventually make him blind. At school, Flint meets McKell. She's new girl and doesn't seem to have trouble making friends.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Front Desk

    Front Desk

    Recent immigrants from China and desperate for work and money, ten-year-old Mia Tang's parents take a job managing a rundown motel in Southern California, even though the owner, Mr. Yao is a nasty skinflint who exploits them; while her mother (who was an engineer in China) does the cleaning, Mia works the front desk and tries to cope with demanding customers and other recent immigrants--not to mention being only one of two Chinese in her fifth grade class, the other being Mr. Yao's son, Jason.

    Read More. Edit
  • Captain Superlative!

    Captain Superlative!

    Janey, a quiet outsider, is inspired by the eccentric and enigmatic Captain Superlative, a masked superhero who runs through the halls of their middle school, performing radical acts of kindness.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Blended

    Blended

    Eleven-year-old Isabella’s blended family is more divided than ever in this “timely but genuine” (Publishers Weekly) story about divorce and racial identity from the award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of Out of My Mind, Sharon M. Draper. Eleven-year-old Isabella’s parents are divorced, so she has to switch lives every week: One week she’s Isabella with her dad, his girlfriend Anastasia, and her son Darren living in a fancy house where they are one of the only black families in the neighborhood.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Amal Unbound

    Amal Unbound

    In Pakistan, Amal holds onto her dream of being a teacher even after becoming an indentured servant to pay off her family's debt to the wealthy and corrupt Khan family.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for 24 Hours in Nowhere

    24 Hours in Nowhere

    Welcome to Nowhere, Arizona, America's least livable town. For Gus, a bright 13-year-old with dreams of escaping, life there is made even worse by bully Bo Taylor. When Bo tries to force Gus to eat a spiny cactus, Rossi Scott, one of the best racers in Nowhere, rescues him by relinquishing her prized dirt bike. Gus agrees to do anything to get it back--even if it means going into a deadly mine to hunt for gold. A gripping story about friendship, hope, and finding the power within ourselves.

    Read More. Edit