Building Block Award

Building Block Award

This annual award honors the author and illustrator of the picture book voted most popular by preschool children in Missouri.

For more information on the Missouri Building Block Award, please see the MLA Building Block Award page.

Building Block Award Nominees

  • Cover image for What Does an Anteater Eat?

    What Does an Anteater Eat?

    Anteater is hungry, but he has completely forgotten what anteaters eat. Baffled, and with his tummy rumbling, he consults the other animals. Sloth is too busy, Toucan is clueless, and Crocodile has his own mouth full. Whatever will Anteater do? It isn't until the ants all run for their lives that Anteater remembers what he should be eating . . . and it's not what you think! A delightfully silly tale that little ones will return to again and again.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Shake the Tree!

    Shake the Tree!

    Various animals take turns shaking a tree in search of a tasty meal. It starts with Mouse who wants a nut so she shakes the tree a little to the right, and a little to the left. But it isn't the nut that falls from the tree, it's Fox who thinks that Mouse looks pretty tasty! Soon a warthog and then a bear come along with similar ideas. Little readers will enjoy the just-made-it escapes and the fun shaking-action that readers can do along with this interactive picture book.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Pokko and the Drum

    Pokko and the Drum

    A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Book for Fall 2019 “In embracing one’s own beat, Pokko discovers, extraordinary things can happen.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Forsythe's coy, playful writing is a wonder on its own, but the lush...illustrations beautifully elevate the tale...Inspirational.” —Booklist (starred review) “Celebrating both community and individuality, this droll, funny offering will tickle kids and adults alike.” —Kirkus Reviews “Has the feel of an instant classic, the kind of book you can easily convince yourself has been around forever, spreading joy.” —Quill &am

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Piranhas Don't Eat Bananas

    Piranhas Don't Eat Bananas

    Find out what piranhas eat -- and don't eat! -- in this new, irresistibly funny picture book from Aaron Blabey, the bestselling creator of Pig the Pug!

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Octopants

    Octopants

    A young octopus is embarrassed that he doesn't have any pants to wear! He goes to several stores in the sea, but none of them has what he needs. Then one day he discovers the Under-Sea Emporium that seems to have the perfect items for everyone. Will he finally find something that's just right for him?

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for I Can Only Draw Worms

    I Can Only Draw Worms

    A hilarious picture book in Day-Glo colors all about worms that is perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures and The Day the Crayons Quit. This is part counting book, part introduction to worms, but all superbly silly. The fact that the author/illustrator can only draw worms will not take anything away from the laugh-out-loud adventure readers will have as they turn the pages of this slightly subversive picture book.

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Fear the Bunny

    Fear the Bunny

    Bunnies—not tigers—rule the forest in this adorable take on William Blake’s classic poem. Bunnies, bunnies, burning bright In the forests of the night— Wait, bunnies?! Yes, bunnies. Tigers may be the most feared animal in some forests, but in this one, they fear the bunny. One hapless tiger finds this idea preposterous—what are they going to do? Nibble on his tail? Bop him on the head? Cute him to death? Fear the bunny—HA! Make no mistake, though: Richard Morris’ reimagining of William Blake’s famous poem turns the tables, and teaches one testy tiger a little rabbit-respect!

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Everybody Says Meow

    Everybody Says Meow

    Everybody Says Meow! Or do they? Fans of Sandra Boynton and of Jules Feiffer's classic Bark, George will meow, bark, and ribbit when they hear this hilarious picture book about a waggish group of adorable animals that just cannot follow one simple instruction. "Welcome to that magical time when everybody says, 'Meow!' Ready?" Well, not quite. There's also a "Woof." And a "Ribbit." A few words and a minimal background can make for plenty of mischief--especially when your characters are adorable, delightfully silly, and probably NOT LISTENING!

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Duck!

    Duck!

    In this funny nod to Chicken Little, a quiet afternoon on the farm might be the scene of a barnyard disaster waiting to happen. When Duck runs around the farm shouting "DUCK!" to the other animals, they grow exasperated as they haughtily explain to Duck which animal is which. Unfortunately, something is falling from the sky. But perhaps "DUCK!" isn't the best warning. Perhaps what Duck should have said is . . . "RUN!"

    Read More. Edit
  • Cover image for Dandy

    Dandy

    New from popular author Ame Dyckman and rising star Charles Santoso comes the laugh-out-loud story of a father desperate to destroy the dandelion marring his perfectly manicured lawn, and his daughter's fierce attempts to save it. When Daddy spots a solitary weed in his lawn, he's appalled (along with all of his neighborhood friends). But his daughter Sweetie has fallen in love with the beautiful flower, even going so far as to name it Charlotte.

    Read More. Edit