Newbery Medal

2015 Newberry Medal Winner:

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

Fourteen-year-old twin basketball stars Josh and Jordan wrestle with highs and lows on and off the court as their father ignores his declining health.

2015 Newbery Medal Honor Books:

El Deafo by CeCe Bell

The author recounts in graphic novel format her experiences with hearing loss at a young age, including using a bulky hearing aid, learning how to lip read, and determining her "superpower."

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

The author shares her childhood memories and reveals the first sparks that ignited her writing career in free-verse poems about growing up in the North and South.

Previous Winners:

2014: Flora & Ulysses : the illuminated adventures by Kate DiCamillo

2013: One and only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

2012: Dead end in Norvelt by Jack Gantos

2011: Moon over manifest by Clare Vanderpool

2010: When you reach me by Rebecca Stead

2009: The graveyard book by Neil Gaiman with illustrations by Dave McKean

2008: Good masters! Sweet Ladies! : voices from a medieval village by Laura Amy Schlitz with illustrations by Robert Byrd

2007: The higher power of Lucky by Susan Patron with illustrations by Matt Phelan

2006: Criss cross by Lynne Rae Perkins

2005: Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata

2004: The tale of Despereaux : being the story of a mouse, a princess, some soup, and a spool of thread by Kate DiCamillo with illustrations by Timothy Basil Ering

2003: Crispin : the cross of lead by Avi

2002: A single shard by Linda Sue Park

2001: A year down yonder by Richard Peck

2000: Bud, not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

For more information about the Newbery Medal, including past winners and honor books, visit the ALSC site.