Mark Twain Award

Mark Twain

2014-2015 Mark Twain Award Nominees

  Freaky Fast Frankie Joe by Lutricia Clifton

Twelve-year-old Frankie Joe Huckaby, forced to live with the father he never knew, a stepmother, and four half-brothers in Illinois, starts a delivery service to finance his escape back to his mother in Texas, not realizing he is making a better life for himself than he ever had with her.

  The Mighty Miss Malone by Christopher Paul Curtis

With love and determination befitting the "world's greatest family," twelve-year-old Deza Malone, her older brother Jimmie, and their parents endure tough times in Gary, Indiana, and later Flint, Michigan, during the Great Depression.

  The Shadow Collector’s Apprentice by Amy Gordon

In the summer of 1963, after his father has inexplicably disappeared leaving Cully with his three eccentric aunts on their barely profitable apple farm, Cully goes to work for a mysterious antiques dealer who has the strange hobby of collecting shadows.

  Pinch Hit by Tim Green

When movie star Trevor and regular Little League player Sam discover that they are identical twins who were separated at birth, they decide to trade places for a while so that Sam can live the Hollywood life and Trevor can play baseball.

  Chomp by Carl Hiaasen

When the difficult star of the reality television show "Expedition Survival" disappears while filming an episode in the Florida Everglades using animals from the wildlife refuge run by Wahoo Crane's family, Wahoo and classmate Tuna Gordon set out to find him while avoiding Tuna's gun-happy father.

  The Young Healer by Frank McMillan

What starts out as just another day becomes anything but that for Feather Anderson. Her beloved grandfather, a traditional Lakota healer, pulls her out of class one snowy morning and takes her on a traditional vision quest in the heart of New York City in hopes to find the perfect Lakota medicine. It becomes the most magical day of Feather's life as she saves her little brother's life and earns her newly-given secret Lakota name.

  Capture the Flag by Kate Messner

When the original Star Spangled Banner is stolen, Anne, José, and Henry, all descendants of the Silver Jaguar Society, pursue suspects through baggage handling tunnels while stranded at a Washington, D.C., airport during a snowstorm.

  Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Ten-year-old Auggie Pullman, who was born with extreme facial abnormalities and was not expected to survive, goes from being home-schooled to entering fifth grade at a private middle school in Manhattan, which entails enduring the taunting and fear of his classmates as he struggles to be seen as just another student.

  The Five Lives of Our Cat Zook by Joanne Rocklin

As ten-year-old Oona and her younger brother conspire to break their sick cat Zook out of the veterinary clinic, Oona tells the story of Zook's previous lives.

  Ordinary Magic by Caitlen Rubino-Bradway

In a world where everyone possesses magical abilities, powerless twelve-year-old Abby, an Ordinary, is sent to a special school to learn how to negotiate a magical world with her unmagical "disability"--and to avoid becoming a victim of kidnappers, carnivores, and goblins ready to prey upon the Ords.

  Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead

Seventh-grader Georges adjusts to moving from a house to an apartment, his father's efforts to start a new business, his mother's extra shifts as a nurse, being picked on at school, and Safer, a boy who wants his help spying on another resident of their building.

  Privateer’s Apprentice by Susan Verrico

From Charles Towne, Carolina Territory, in 1712, thirteen-year-old Jameson Cooper, orphaned and indigent, is abducted by privateers working for Queen Anne but proves himself worthy to be called a royal sailor through his writing and drawing skills, as well as his hard work and courage.

Mark Twain Award Winners

2013 Mark Twain Award Winner:

Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper

2012 - Runaway Twin by Peg Kehret

2011 - Stolen Children by Peg Kehret

2010 - Deep & Dark & Dangerous by Mary Downing Hahn

2009 - Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

2008 - Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

2007 - Abduction! by Peg Kehret

2006 - The City of Ember by Jean Duprau

2005 - Wenny Has Wings by Janet Lee Carey

2004 - Zach's Lie by Roland Smith

2003 - Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

2002 - Dork in Disguise by Carol Gorman

2001 – Holes by Louis Sachar

2000 - Saving Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

1999 - Small Steps: the Year I Got Polio by Peg Kehret

1998 - Titanic Crossing by Barbara Williams

1997 - Time for Andrew by Mary Downing Hahn

1996 - The Ghosts of Mercy Manor by Betty Ren Wright

1995 - The Man Who Loved Clowns by June Rae Wood

1994 - Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

1993 - Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli

1992 - The Doll in the Garden by Mary Downing Hahn

1991 - All About Sam by Lois Lowry

1990 - There's a Boy in the Girl's Bathroom by Louis Sachar

For more information about the Mark Twain Award, including past winners and nominees, visit the Missouri Association of School Librarians site.

Mark Twain Award