Children's Programs

Family Movie Nights

6:00-8:00 pm
Family event. Bring a folding chair, sleeping bag, blanket or pillow and join the fun. Light snacks and drinks provided.
Note: This is an after-hours event. The front library doors will close at 6:15.

Friday, July 18: The LEGO Movie (PG)

Friday, August 15: The Nut Job (PG)

Friday, September 19: Muppets Most Wanted (PG)

LEGO Block Party nights

Ages 5-12. Limited to the first 45 participants on the evening of the event. A sign-in sheet will be available 30-minutes before start time.
For more information, contact Eric Lyon, 634-6064, ext 229.

Free-building LEGO fun at the library!

6:30-8:00 pm in the MRRL Art Gallery
Monday, July 7
Monday, August 4
Monday, September 8
Monday, October 6

Tail Waggin' Tutors

Bring your favorite book to read to one of the trained therapy dogs. All ages. No reservations needed.

Tuesday, July 1 & 15, 7:00-8:00 pm
Tuesday, August 5 & 19, 7:00-8:00 pm

Thursday, July 10, 6:00-7:00 pm
Thursday, August 14, 6:00-7:00 pm

Family Concert

Saturday, July 12
1:00 - 2:00 pm

MRRL Art Gallery
All ages. No reservations needed.

Singer-guitarist Rick Rayburn will be here for a high-energy family concert! Beat the heat, and join us in the art gallery for his hilarious original tunes.

 

Family Science Mondays

On the following Mondays, throughout the summer!
An hour of science-related acitivities for children and their families.
All ages. No reservations needed.

Monday, June 30, 11:00 am - Noon: Fly Away
Fold, decorate, and fly paper airplanes and helicopters. Zoom through hoops, land on pads, and complete goofy challenges.

Monday, July 14, 11:00 am - Noon: Sink & Float
Sinking boats, dancing raisins, ketchup packet divers. Explore bouyancy through hands-on experiments.

Monday, July 21, 7:00 - 8:00 pm: Mini Machines
Levers in action! Build and test mini-marshmallow catapults, and design your own button to press together in a machine.

Monday, July 28, 11:00 am - Noon: In the Air
Today is all about air. Fun with sound waves, bubbles, and even hovercraft.

Monday, August 11, 11:00 am - Noon: Build-a-Bot
Build your own robot from a variety of wacky materials.

Monday, August 18, 7:00 - 8:00 pm: Under the Stars
Draw and name your own constellation, and then add it to our inflatable indoor planetarium!

Family Fun Wednesdays

Each Wednesday, 10:30-11:30 am, in the MRRL Gallery (upstairs)

Beyond story time! An hour of reading, music and activities, all with a weekly theme. All ages welcome. No reservations needed. Day care groups are welcome to attend, but please call ahead to let us know. Contact Eric Lyon, 634-6064, ext. 229.

Wednesday, July 2: Fizz Boom!
Straw rockets and fireworks art

Wednesday, July 9: It's Puzzling
Optical illusions, mazes, and other mind games

Wednesday, July 16: Splish Splash
Painting with rain, and creating bubble cups

Wednesday, July 23: Clank! Clunk! Machines!
Arrange illustrations to create silly, complex machines to complete simple tasks

Wednesday, July 30: Looking Up
Shapes in the air, and cloudy art.

Laptime

Friday, July 11
Friday, August 1
10:30-11:00 am in the Storyhour Room

A special time for babies and their caregivers. Music, movement and socialization. Ages under 2. No reservations needed. 

Bookworms Book Club

A book discussion for 3-5 grade students. Meets the 3rd Thursday of the month in the Storyhour Room at 7:00 pm. Sign up at the Children's desk or contact Angie Bayne at 634-6064 x. 253 or baynea@mrrl.org

July 17: A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park
August 21: Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
September 18: Freaky Fast Frankie Joe by Lutricia Clifton

You can find more information on the Bookworms page.

Tween Events

Programs for grades 4-6!

 

Tween Game Day
Come join us for a day of games!

Hampstead Stage Presents: Alice in Wonderland


Saturday, August 2
1:00 - 2:00 pm
MRRL ART GALLERY
No reservations needed.


A two-person play for children and families, presented by the Hampstead Stage Company of New Hampshire! Through Alice's imagination, ordinary things become extraordinary. Lewis Carroll's classic comes alive in this fully-costumed, interactive adventure play.

 

Kidsfun e-mail Notification

In order to keep patrons informed of upcoming events at the library for children and families, we have created the Kidsfun e-mail list. Every two weeks, a message containing upcoming events information is sent to those on this list. Signing up for this service is simple. Fill out the information below, and you will be added to the list. Thanks in advance for your interest, and we hope to see you at an upcoming program!

Enter your name here
Enter your email address here
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Sections: 

Children's Programs