Caldecott Medal

2014 Caldecott Medal Winner:

Locomotive by Brian Floca

All aboard From the creator of the "stunning" ("Booklist") "Moonshot," a rich and detailed sensory exploration of America's early railroads.
It is the summer of 1869, and trains, crews, and family are traveling together, riding America's brand-new transcontinental railroad. These pages come alive with the details of the trip and the sounds, speed, and strength of the mighty locomotives; the work that keeps them moving; and the thrill of travel from plains to mountain to ocean. Come hear the hiss of the steam, feel the heat of the engine, watch the landscape race by. Come ride the rails, come cross the young country

2014 Caldecott Medal Honor Books:

Journey by Aaron Becker

Using a red marker, a young girl draws a door on her bedroom wall and through it enters another world where she experiences many adventures, including being captured by an evil emperor.

Flora and the flamingo by Molly Idle

In this wordless book with interactive flaps, a friendship develops between a girl named Flora and a graceful flamingo, as they learn to dance together.

Mr. Wuffles! by David Wiesner

Mr. Wuffles ignores all his cat toys but one, which turns out to be a spaceship piloted by small green aliens. When Mr. Wuffles plays rough with the little ship, the aliens must venture into the cat's territory to make emergency repairs. 

Previous Winners:

2013: This is not my hat by Jon Klassen

2012: A ball for Daisy illustrated and written by Chris Raschka

2011: A sick day for Amos McGee illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Phillip C. Stead

2010: The lion and the mouse by Jerry Pinkney

2009: The House in the Night illustrated by Beth Krommes, written by Susan Marie Swanson

2008: The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

2007: Flotsam by David Wiesner

2006: The Hello, Goodbye Window illustrated by Chris Raschka, written by Norton Juster

2005: Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes

2004: The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein

2003: My Friend Rabbit by Eric Rohmann

2002: The Three Pigs by David Wiesner

2001: So You Want to Be President? illustrated by David Small; text by Judith St. George

2000: Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback

For more information about the Caldecott Medal, including past winners and honor books, visit the ALSC site.