Building Block Picture Book Award

Building Block Picture Book Award

2014 Building Block Picture Book Nominees

  Count the Monkeys by Mac Barnett

The reader is invited to count the animals that have frightened the monkeys off the pages.

  I Dare You Not to Yawn by Helene Boudreau

A comical cautionary tale for bedtime-resistant youngsters which challenges them to avoid yawning, from a dozing dog and a cuddly blanket to endearing baby orangutans who stretch out long arms for a nighttime hug.

  Open Very Carefully: A Book with Bite by Nick Bromley

A crocodile falls into a quiet storybook and wreaks havoc on the characters, in a tale that invites youngsters to slam the book shut or find the courage to take a peek inside.

  Ribbit by Rodrigo Folgueira

When a pig visits a frog pond, sits on a rock, and says only "Ribbit!", news spreads fast but only the wise old beetle has an explanation.

  Little Nelly’s Big Book by Pippa Goodhart

Little Nelly reads a book that convinces her she is a mouse, so she finds a family of mice who take her in despite the enormous size difference.

  This Little Piggy by Tim Harrington

Expands on the traditional counting rhyme, revealing exciting things the second set of toes does which inspire the first set to try more "fun stuff" too.

  Mustache Baby by Bridget Heos

A picture book about baby Billy, who is born with a mustache, and his parents, who must figure our if it's a Good-Guy mustache, or a Bad-Guy mustache.

  Moo by David LaRochelle

When Cow gets her hooves on the farmer's car, she takes it for a wild ride through the country.

  The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli

After swallowing a watermelon seed, a crocodile imagines a scary outcome.

  That is Not a Good Idea by Mo Willems

A surprising lesson about the importance of listening to one's inner gosling ensues when a very hungry fox issues a dinner invitation to a very plump goose.

Building Block Picture Book Award Winners

2013 Building Block Picture Book Award Winner: 

Pete the cat and his four groovy buttons story by Eric Litwin


2012 - Press Here by Herve Tullet

2011 - Pete the cat: I love my white shoes by Eric Litwin

2010 - The Pout-Pout Fish by Deborah Diesen; illustrated by Dan Hanna

2009 - Ed Emberley's bye-bye, big bad bullybug! by Ed Emberley

2008 - Llama Llama mad at mama by Anna Dewdney

2007 - Move over, Rover! by Karen Beaumont; illustrated by Jane Dyer

2006 - I ain't gonna paint no more! by Karen Beaumont; illustrated by David Catrow

2005 - Bubble gum, bubble gum by Lisa Wheeler; illustrated by Laura Huliska-Beith

2004 - Bubble bath pirates by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

2003 - The little school bus by Carol Roth; illustrated by Pamela Paparone

2002 - Who took the cookies from the cookie jar? by Bonnie Lass and Philemon Sturges; illustrated by Ashley Wolff

2001 - Two cool coyotes by Jillian Lund

2000 - Bark, George by Jules Feiffer

1999 - No, David! by David Shannon

1998 - Cock-a-doodle-moo! by Bernard Most

1997 - "Hi, pizza man!" by Virginia Walter; pictures by Ponder Goembel

1996 - Splash, splash by Jeff Sheppard by illustrated by Dennis Panek

For more information about the Building Block Picture Book Award, including past winners and nominees, visit the Missouri Library Association site.

Building Block Award